Almond Flavored Chocolate Cake (with eggless version)

Have you ever spent hours looking for a recipe and not being satisfied with any?  Hmmm…  I went through loads of recipes before I baked this cake few months back.  Not that the recipes I found were not good enough!  They were just not what I was looking for at that moment.  🙂  In the end, I came up with this chocolate cake recipe.  It’s kind of very simple, but I was so excited that I came up with a recipe on my own and that it worked perfectly!

Chocolate, almond extract and lemons…  This is what I started with.  And yeah; I was baking this for S!  🙂  So, obviously chocolate and almond flavor were my first choice since he loves them.  As for the lemons, well, they were lying around in the fridge and I wanted to use them up.  🙂

Eventually I ended up leaving the lemons out.  A sweet lemon glaze would have been nice over the cake but it did not need any.  The cake is sooo delicious on its own!  🙂

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 – 5 tbs cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs  ( OR 1 egg + 4 tbs plain yogurt )
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup milk

METHOD :

  • Preheat your oven to 190 degrees c.  Grease and flour a baking dish.
  • In a large bowl, add sugar and butter and beat till light and creamy.
  • Add the eggs, one at a time.  (OR egg + yogurt)  Mix in the almond extract.
  • In a separate bowl, mix the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and baking soda.  (You can add in ¼ tsp salt if using unsalted butter)
  • Fold in the flour mixture into the egg-butter mixture, alternating with the milk.  DO NOT over mix.
  • Pour into prepared baking dish.  Sprinkle some sliced almonds on top if desired.  Bake at 190 degrees C for 35 – 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.

EGGLESS VERSION :

  • Use 8 tbs of plain yogurt + 1 tbs vinegar instead of the eggs.  Also, increase the baking soda to 1 tsp.
  • The batter will be thicker when making the eggless version, but once baked the cake will be as light and yummy as the ones with eggs!  🙂

Try it out and your feedbacks are most welcome!  🙂

6 responses to “Almond Flavored Chocolate Cake (with eggless version)

  1. This cake looks fantastic.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Your eggless chocolate cake sounds quite a feat! I think my hubby will definitely love it; he’s not really that into eggs :p

Leave a Reply

