Watermelon Agua Fresca… A Refreshing Summer Drink

I can definitely feel it now…  The hot summer days are here!!!  I already miss the perfect winter we had this year; just cold enough without the need of double layers of clothing.  But with summer, comes those refreshing cooler drinks that we all enjoy so much!  🙂  I’m surely gonna make the most of it.

Watermelon Agua Fresca is a perfect way to quench your thirst on a hot summer day.  🙂  Agua Fresca is a popular Mexican beverage made out of fruit and it literally means “water refreshment”.  This hydrating and refreshing drink is lightly flavored and not overly sweet.  (Recipe from here)

INGREDIENTS :

  • 4 cups chilled watermelon (chopped and seeded)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbs lime juice
  • 1 – 2 tbs sugar / honey (optional)
  • ice cubes

DIRECTIONS :

  • Add chopped and seeded watermelon to your blender and blend until smooth.
  • Add in the water and lime juice and blend again.
  • Strain through a mesh colander if desired.  (I did not find it necessary)
  • Stir in sugar or honey, depending on how sweet the watermelon is.  Chill and serve over ice cubes.

You can make this amazing drink in just a few minutes!  Keep it in the fridge and enjoy anytime you need to chill out.  🙂

I can’t wait to try this with other fruits!  Pineapple, mango, papaya, passion fruit, tamarind, guava, orange, strawberry…  You can make Agua Fresca with really any kind of fruit!!  🙂

6 responses to “Watermelon Agua Fresca… A Refreshing Summer Drink

  1. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome blog!

  2. I love reading this post because winter is lurking in the shadows in my part of the world. But I remember the hot summer days of not so long ago. I bet this really would taste good on one of those hot days.

  3. Yes it does!! 😉 I’m sure u’ll enjoy it, try it out next summer.. It’s very refreshing and perfect to rehydrate urself.

  4. Great, looks brilliant!! 😉

Leave a Reply

