How About Some Fresh Tomato Salad?

I never paid much attention to these fruits (Yes!  They are fruits!), until I started making pizza and pasta sauces.  I’m not a big fan of tomatoes but when I saw these, I couldn’t help but think how gorgeous they look.  🙂

To be able to experience their freshness to the most, I made a simple and easy Salade Pomme D’amour.  Tomato salad, which I find quite similar to the Mexican salsa, is part of the typical Mauritian cuisine.  It is commonly served as an accompaniment to rice dishes such as Briani.

This is what I could call an un-recipe according to Mandy from The Complete Cook Book.  🙂  That is, something that doesn’t require any cooking and with just a few ingredients.

INGREDIENTS :

  • 4 – 5 medium sized tomatoes  (I used one of those big ones!)
  • 1 onion
  • a small bunch of fresh coriander  (cilantro)
  • 1 – 2 green chillies
  • salt

METHOD :

  • Cut the tomatoes into half and remove the seeds.  Chop into small cubes.
  • Finely chop the onion, coriander and green chili.
  • Mix all together.  Add salt and stir just before serving.

Did you know that tomatoes are rich in lycopene, a powerful antioxidant?  This helps in fighting against cancer, heart disease and premature aging.  They are also high in vitamins such as vitamin C and A.  🙂

Now, this is a perfect lunch; a delicious Mauritian briani along with some fresh Salade Pomme D’amour.  Miam Miam!!!  🙂

9 responses to “How About Some Fresh Tomato Salad?

  1. Thank you for the lovely mention and a great un-recipe! I do miss a Mauritian briani – it’s the only briani I have ever enjoyed.
    Have a happy Sunday.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. This post actually made me curious about other traditional Mauritian cuisine. After doing some research, it all sounds so delicious!

  3. this looks tres yummy! nothing better than fresh tomatoes. Mr. Cheddar sends his best wishes and thanks for your kind words at RUmpy’s ! Nice blog you’ve got here. 🙂

  4. Thank you Geraldine! 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by and liked my blog.
    Hope i’ll get to see more of Mr Cheddar!

  5. This looks so yummy! I love fresh tomatoes.

  6. Lycopene is a great food supplement but i usually take lycopene from natural food sources like tomato. ..

    Pay a visit to our own internet site too
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/heat-rash-treatment/

Leave a Reply

