Gato Papaye (Candied Papaya)

This month has definitely been a lazy one for me; with only 3 blog posts published.  And we’re nearing the end of September already!  I don’t know about my fellow bloggers, but I do take a lot of time to draft and edit a post.  🙂  I actually took days to complete my previous one about Pizza!  Hopefully this blog post will be completed and published by tomorrow (i.e. Wednesday).  🙂

Gato Papaye is one of the candies that I remember from my childhood days but that is seen less and less in our shops now.  I got the idea of making these from my Candied Citrus Peel recipe.  The basics are pretty much the same; I simply used a different fruit.

Green papaya is something that I have on hand most of the time, with 3 or 4 trees in my yard.  It’s a pity to see these fruits go to waste but I try not to make these candies often.  While being a perfect sweet treat, they are still loaded with sugar!   I really should be keeping a watch on my sugar intake considering a very significant history of diabetes in my family.  But I guess making a batch of these once in a while won’t do much harm as long as I don’t end up eating too much.  🙂 

The first time I made these, I went for a ripe but firm papaya; which was not such a good idea.  The candies turned out quite soft and I simply couldn’t get them to dry completely.  So make sure you are using an unripe green fruit to make these candies.  🙂

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1/2 of a medium sized unripe papaya
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup water

METHOD :

  • Peel and cut the papaya into slices of around 5 mm thickness.  This should make about 1 to 1 ½ cup.  I was wondering how the store bought Gato Papaye are made into nice big squares or triangles but then I was told that they actually use a different fruit to make these instead of papaya!
  • Add the sugar and water to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.
  • Put in the papaya slice and allow to simmer till the fruit becomes translucent and syrup thickens considerably.
  • Remove the papaya slices while still hot with the help of a fork.  Place on wire rack and allow to drain.
  • Once cool enough to handle you can coat the candies with some granulated sugar.  Simply put them in a disposable plastic bag with some sugar and shake until coated.
  • Place the candied papaya back on wire rack and allow to dry overnight or for several hours.
  • I usually fasten the drying by placing the candies in my oven for few minutes at 100 degrees C.  Make sure you place a tray under the wire rack.  Coat the candies with sugar after they are out of the oven.

Store the Candied Papaya in an airtight container and enjoy with moderation! 🙂

P.S.  I created this blog exactly 3 months back and my blog stats have reached 1000 this week!  Yay!!  🙂

10 responses to “Gato Papaye (Candied Papaya)

  1. Never had candied papaya before – sounds fabulous!
    Congratulations on reaching 1000 views.
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    DEEEEEEEEElish. Wish I could make like this.

  3. Hi vynoo, thanks for the gato papayes recipe, i will surely try them.

  4. Does it taste like real Mauritian gato papaye? I live in Canada and have been craving this for months.

  5. chandrakant mohonee.

    this papaya and my papaya sweet both are looked same looked and same shape, hoping the taste must be the same,
    very good papaya cake ,home made cook,easy and tasty. try it you will like it.
    prepared on 19th of february 2015 .
    thank you for the receipt.
    mohoneekant@gmail.com

  6. You’re welcome Chandrakant Mohonee.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

