Easy Pie Crust Recipe

A sweet aroma of homemade pie is filling the house as I’m writing this post.  I simply couldn’t resist the temptation of leaving right in the middle of my post for today to go and bake a pie!  I guess that’s why the recipe is called Easy Pie Crust.  Now that my pie is cooling by the window, I’ll continue with my post till it’s ready to be served.  I think this is the hardest part of the recipe; waiting to have a bite!  🙂

When I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com, I wasn’t sure whether this pie crust will turn out as good as a traditional pie crust made of butter.  But I’m glad I tried it.  This is the third time I’m using this recipe and it’s absolutely amazing; perfect for a quick and easy pie!  You can use this crust both for sweet or savoury pies.

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 5 tsp sugar ( for sweet pies )
  • 1 tsp salt ( for savoury pies)
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 tbsp milk

 NOTES :

  • Adjust the amount of sugar and salt to your taste.  For savoury pies, you can add in herbs and spices to the crust.  I usually add in ground cinnamon when making sweet pies.  You may as well use some finely chopped nuts.  🙂
  • The dough might break while handling but simply press it down in your pie dish; it’ll be perfect once baked.  Avoid adding in too much oil else you end up with a crust which is too crumbly.

METHOD :

  1. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C.
  2. Stir together all the dry ingredients.  Add in the oil and mix.  Add the milk to form a dough. 
  3. You can mix the ingredients directly in a 9 inch pie pan and the press down the dough to shape your pie crust.  The dough can be rolled out as well and then transferred to your pie dish.  I find it easy to roll out the dough between two sheets of kitchen paper and the turn it over in my pie dish.
  4. Using a fork poke holes in bottom and side of crust.  Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven.  Use as directed in desired pie recipe.

Here’s the banana pie I baked today!  🙂  I’ll share the recipe for banana pie very soon in another post.  Right now I’m going to have a slice of this delicious pie with a warm cup of tea.  It’s already past tea time but I definitely can’t wait till after dinner.  🙂

6 responses to “Easy Pie Crust Recipe

  1. Oh you can’t leave us hanging with that picture and no recipe. Hurry and post!!

  2. Pingback: Tarte Banane / Banana Tart | Bites Of Sweet And Spice

  3. Pingback: Mini Jam Tarts | Bites Of Sweet And Spice

Leave a Reply

