Buttermilk Pancakes

Finally my first post!!!  🙂  I was wondering how to start my blogging journey and whether to share a recipe right away.  I have written a few details about myself and how I developed this cooking passion in the “About Me” page. Do check it out!  🙂

One of the first recipes I tried was buttermilk pancakes and I’ve been making these again and again since then.  🙂  While I was familiar with the traditional thin crepes, pancakes were something new to me.  These pancakes are very light and fluffy and perfect for breakfast or teatime or even as a quick and easy dessert.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  •  6 tbs white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 4 tbs butter (melted)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

 

Notes:

  • I usually make my pancakes eggless but you can go ahead and add a couple of eggs to the batter. 
  • I have adapted the recipe according to my personal preferences.  The original recipe can be found here.
  • Add a pinch of salt to dry ingredients if using unsalted butter.
  • You don’t have buttermilk?  Check out my post on a simple and easy buttermilk substitute!.  It works perfectly with this recipe.  🙂
  • The cinnamon powder is optional but I strongly recommend it.  Everyone will wonder what the secret ingredient is!
  • You can use more or less sugar according to your taste.  Use 4 tbs sugar if you are planning to serve the pancakes along with syrup or any other topping.
  • This recipe makes around 15 small size pancakes.

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredient, i.e. flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon powder.
  2. In a separate bowl mix the buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla.  If using eggs add the beaten eggs to this.  Keep the two mixtures separate until you are ready to cook.
  3. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture, using a spoon or fork to blend. Stir until it’s just blended together.  Do not overmix!  Over-mixing leads to tough pancakes because the gluten in the flour begins to develop as soon as liquid touches it, and the more you mix, the tougher the gluten becomes. Don’t worry about a few lumps in the batter.
  4. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium heat.  You can flick water across the surface and if it beads up and sizzles, it’s ready!  You might need to adjust the heat in between if the pancakes darken on the outside too quickly.  Also, avoid oiling the griddle too much else you’ll end up frying your pancakes.
  5. Pour or scoop out small amounts of batter on the griddle (about half cup) depending on the size of pancake you want.  Do a test run with one sacrificial pancake and adjust the temperature up or down as needed
  6. A pancake is ready to be turned over when it’s dry around the edges and bubbles have formed over the top.  Once you see the bubbles flip over the pancakes even if the top is still wet.  Brown on both sides.
  7. While you’re waiting impatiently for the second side to cook, resist the impulse to press down the pancake with your spatula. Pressing will not cook it any faster, but will undo all the effort you’ve made to achieve fluffy, light, perfect pancakes.

  • Pancakes are best eaten warm from the griddle.  If you absolutely must keep the pancakes waiting, arrange them in a single layer on a wire rack. Never stack or cover them, the steam makes them soggy.

  • The pancakes can be served as such or with toppings such as syrup, jam, chocolate sauce, honey, whipped cream or even fresh fruits.  🙂  Enjoy!!
6 responses to “Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Hmmm…The recipe looks simple with all ingredients easily available at home. I always found bread or biscuits a bit hard to swallow in the morning as breakfast…so i’ll definitely try these pancakes 🙂 Thanks

  2. You’re welcome.. 🙂 I’ll be posting more easy recipes as soon as I can..

  3. I Like!
    Can’t wait to try them!
    i’ll be following you up!

  4. I like this 1. I’ll definitely try it!!
    Plz do add more of vegeterian/eggless recipes. Thnx.

  5. Hi Pooja! Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂 I definitely will be adding more veg recipes soon. Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

