Easy Eggless Brownies

I wasn’t expecting much when I attempted these brownies for the first time and I came up with amazingly moist and chocolatey brownies within 1 hour!  Since the original recipe was vegan, I tweaked it little bit after reading the reviews.  These are not just good but an excellent eggless version of chocolate brownies.

The photo above is of my first attempt at these brownies.  They turned out a bit dense but still very delicious!  It is important not to over stir the batter to make sure your brownies are more cake-like and not dense.  :-)  I would suggest that you mix the batter by hand with a spoon or spatula, which is what I do now.  It is sooo much quick and simple.  I must warn all those who can’t resist chocolate desserts; once you try this, you’ll find yourself making these brownies anytime you have a chocolate craving!

INGREDIENTS :

For a 10 × 25 cm baking dish or cake pan.

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 – 6 tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk / buttermilk
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup vegetable oil (or substitute with melted butter)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Chopped peanuts or walnuts (optional)

METHOD :

  • Preheat your oven to 175 degrees C.
  • In a large bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • In a separate bowl, pour in the milk or buttermilk, vegetable oil and vanilla.  Fold in the flour mixture into this and stir until just mixed.  DO NOT OVERMIX.  If using peanuts, stir in some chopped peanuts into the batter and keep some for topping.
  • Spread the batter evenly in a greased baking dish.  Top with some chopped peanuts.
  • Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven at 175 degrees C, until the top is no longer shiny.
  • Allow cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting into squares.

NOTES :

  • I adapted this recipe from vegan brownies recipe.  For vegan version, substitute water for milk and use vegetable oil.
  • I have tried this recipe both with vegetable oil and melted butter.  I must say I was anxious about using oil, but it turned out perfectly delicious and yummy!  :-)  The original recipe called for ½ cup of oil.  It can be reduced to 1/3  or 1/4 cup with the same excellent result.  You can also substitute part of the fat with unsweetened applesauce for a healthier version.
  • Don’t be alarmed if you find your batter a bit thick, but make sure you spread it evenly in your baking dish.  Also if you are using only 1/4 cup oil, then I suggest you  increase the amount of milk by 1/4 cup.
  • If you love the combination of coffee and chocolate, add 1 or 2 tsp of instant coffee powder to the batter.  (dissolve it in the milk)

Enjoy this delicious treat with some vanilla ice cream!  :-)  Brownies with ice cream is one of my favourite desserts.  Double or triple the recipe at your own risk; once you have a bite you won’t be able to stop eating these!!

27 responses to “Easy Eggless Brownies

  1. Well done on working the recipe to such perfection.
    Have a happy weekend. :-) Mandy

  2. I love this cause now i know how to make them my self. To evryone except my mom, my moms in for a treat on valentines day and mothers day!!!!! lol

  3. I hope my mom enjoys it!!!!!!

  4. just made these – they did come out dense but tasted great – thx for the recipe.. :)

  5. :-) I’m glad you tried the recipe. Overmixing of the batter will result in dense brownies. Try to stir it until just mixed if you want less dense brownies.
    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I just made these twice and they both turned out great! I made em cause my bf’s fasting and he has to be vegetarian for a month and I found this recipe whilst browsing through the web. It was delicious and they turned out perfect during the first try itself. Thanks for the recipe! :)

  7. Awesome recipe my sister helped me do it-we always use your recipe when making brownies-thanks!

  8. I’m tryin out this recipe cuz I’m bored and I don’t have any eggs. I’ve added a tsp on cinnamon and coconut flakes. Excited to try, thanks for posting!!

  9. These are really good, I made them higher fiber, sugar free and low fat. Changes – part whole wheat flour, skim milk, coconut oil (lesser amount) and stevia with fiber. I have been so hungry for brownies, but do not have any eggs so searched and found this easy and delicious recipe….thanks!

  10. Hi just want to say thank you for this recipe! We have a girls bible study group each monday and I’m in charge of desserts .. We have a girl who is allergic to eggs so was great to have such a good recipe! They loved it – it was her first time eating brownies!! Couldn’t taste the difference to the egg versions!

  11. How many grams does 1 cup equate to?

    • Hi Aislinn.. I usually measure my ingredients in terms of cups.
      1 cup approximately equals to 235ml or 16 tablespoons.. I can’t say exactly how much 1 cup of each ingredient will equal to in terms of grams.. I’ll let you know if i find out.

  12. Dear Poonam, I tried your brownie recipe and it turned better than perfect. The best part of your recipe is all the ingredients were available at my home. You saved me from running helter skelter. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe

  13. Just made these brownies and it tastes so good! made it for my little brother and sister .. they love it!! Thanks for the recipe =D

    By the way .. I had no baking soda or vanilla .. still turned out great! I used butter instead of oil and added only a tablespoon of oil.

    Great recipe!

  14. Shambavi Rajagopal

    Thank you the kids loved it. Always looking out for egg less recipes specially for the parents.

  15. I tried this recipe today just because i didn’t have eggs and needed a little chocolate fix…. they came out great i did however double the recipe and added a little coffee granules used both white and brown sugar as well as butter and oil also some chopped chocolate …thought it might blow up on me but all was well :) .. I had two squares with a glass of milk …the earth is once more in alignment .

Leave a Reply

